Hoosier Dusty Files - April 10, 1818 - Monroe County Formed

A Year of Indiana History - 2016
A Year of Indiana History - 2016

April 10, 1818 - Monroe County Formed
Named for - James Monroe
Seat - Bloomington
Largest city - Bloomington
Area - 411.32 sq mi
Population - (2010) - 137,974
The Indiana General Assembly formed Monroe County from portions of Orange County on April 8, 1818. They named the county for James Madison.
James Monroe (April 28, 1758 – July 4, 1831)
The fifth President of the United States, Monroe was a native of Virginia. He served in the 3rd Virginia Regiment as an officer during the Revolutionary War, the last President who was a Revolutionary War veteran and the last Founding Father to serve as President. He was wounded at the Battle of Trenton. After the war, he opposed the ratification of the Constitution on the grounds that it gave too much power to the Federal Government. He worked to support the Constitution after passage, becoming the fifth President in 1817.
Cities and Towns in Monroe County
New Unionville
Major Highways
Indiana 37.svg Indiana State Road 37
Indiana 45.svg Indiana State Road 45
Indiana 46.svg Indiana State Road 46
Indiana 48.svg Indiana State Road 48
Indiana 446.svg Indiana State Road 446

Historical Attractions
Farmer House
Hinkle-Garton Farmstead
IU Office of University Archives
The Lilly Library
Mathers Museum of World Cultures
Monroe County History Center
Wylie House Museum
Glenn Black Laboratory of Archeology
Indiana Geological Survey
WonderLab Museum of Science,
Health & Technology

Auto Tours
Indiana Limestone Heritage Trail

Indiana possesses a rich history that is fun to read and learn. This Hoosier Dusty Files is in an easy to read “this day in history format” and includes articles from the author's A Year in Indiana History series. Visitors may read the articles as they appear or purchase the book:
A Year of Indiana History - 2016
© Paul Wonning